Location: Site Configuration > User Settings > Rights
An Access Right is a set of permissions granted to a user which defines the scope of the user’s activities within the site modules as well as certain general sections of the platform. The number of Access Rights you configure for a site normally depends on the number of different user roles existing within the site.
It is possible to assign multiple access rights for a user. User access will be calculated by combining access settings from all the access rights assigned to him.
User Permissions
The following table looks at the permissions you can grant to users with respect to every module of a site. Remember that for some permissions, their availability with respect to a specific module depends on whether or not the related function has been enabled for that module.
Parameter | Meaning |
|---|---|
Read | Ability to view the items of the module |
Edit | Ability to edit the items of the module |
Delete | Ability to delete the items of the module and files uploaded to the items |
Share | Access to the Share function |
Upload | Ability to create new items in combination with "Read" access |
Download | Ability to download files from the module items |
Configure | Ability to configure the module |
Log | Ability to view the log of changes made to the module items |
Export | Ability to export selected field data |
Manual PDF Export (XSLT) | Ability to trigger the manual generation of PDFs from XSLT |
Version Control | Ability to see the Version Control menu in the item view |
Bulk Upload | Ability to upload images in bulk |
Bulk Edit | Ability to edit the items of the module in bulk |
Bulk Delete | Ability to delete the items of the module in bulk |
Bulk Merge PDF | Ability to trigger bulk Merge PDF functionality |
Translation Service | Ability to use translation service |
Configure an Access Right
To configure a new Access Right, follow these steps:
Go to Site Configuration > User Settings > Access Rights.
On the toolbar, click New User Access Rights.
In the dialogue box that opens, type a name for the Access Right in the Name box.
Select the checkboxes opposite Users and Regions if you want the Access Right to provide access to the respective sections.
Set permissions on the site modules by selecting checkboxes opposite the module names on the left. To set permission, select the checkbox under the related operation’s name; to deny permission, clear the checkbox under the operation’s name.
Use the “Copy access right” button to duplicate the existing one and modify it
Assign an Access Right
Assigning an Access Right to a user is inherent in the user creation process since you cannot create a user account without specifying an Access Right for the user. For information on how to create user accounts, see Users in this chapter.
To assign a different Access Right to an existing user, follow these steps:
Go to any of the configuration sections under Users that displays the list of users and locate the user whose
Access Right you want to change.
Click the Edit icon next to the user name, and in the dialogue box that opens, click the Site Information tab.
In the User Access Right list, select the new Access Right.
Edit an Access Right
Occasionally, you may need to edit an existing Access Right to incorporate newly created modules or reconfigure permissions on some of the modules or sections.
To edit an Access Right, follow these steps:
On the Access Rights configuration page, click the Edit icon next to the Access Right you want to edit.
In the dialogue box that opens, make the necessary changes. To set more permissions on a module, select the corresponding checkboxes. To deny permissions, clear the corresponding checkboxes.
If you want to rename the Access Right, delete the old name and type the new name in the Name box.
Delete an Access Right
To delete an Access Right, click the Edit icon next to it, and then click Delete on the toolbar of the dialogue box that opens.